Dryer lint

Dryer lint can be the bane of my existence at times.

I have a small double stack dryer/washer mechanism that was not of my choosing, it came with the apartment. The lint trap is in the door, and it wasn’t well designed.  It catches perhaps half of the lint my laundry produces, the other half leaps out and onto the floor when I open the dryer, or all over me, or it jumps onto the clean laundry in a confetti-like fashion, which is impossible to pick off.

Sometimes, the lint trap will trap my underwear instead, and the lint will catch onto the garment, which would only be useful if I were making a gray, fuzzy superhero costume.”Have no fear, my dear. The highly flammable and itchy Wonder Fuzz is here to save you.” Um, no thanks. Once I reclaim my lost article of clothing, it has to start the cleaning process all over again.

Other times, late at night, when I am heading to the restroom and not paying too much attention to my surroundings, the lint that escaped onto the floor, and somehow survived my sweeping, will jump out in a cockroach-like-fashion scaring the be-jeezus out of me. I feel like a fool when my husband runs to save me from the fearsome lint-bunny.

But the worst is running the dryer more than one time to dry a load. This is usually because the lint has mission-impossibled itself around the trap and collected everywhere else, blocking the air flow. I used to think I had overloaded the dryer when it would take to long to dry. But now, I know to check the path of the dryer’s exhaust. I just recently cleaned it and can now enjoy running a load of laundry only once. It saves time, electricity, and wear and tear on my clothes. Not to mention I am removing a fire hazard.

Consumer Reports says many house fires that began with the dryer were preventable and that the dryer ducts should be cleaned regularly.

It is amazing how we as humans sometimes have to learn something over and over again to apply that knowledge. I am sure I knew to check those things regularly before, but the lesson wasn’t etched in my head until I had to tango with a problematic dryer.

If your dryer is giving you a headache, check the exhaust vents for lint build up. It’s a pain, but well worth it in the long run. Better yet, schedule a thorough cleanup once a month, that way the lint is caught before any large buildup begins.

 

 

Leave a Reply

